NSW Premier’s History Awards

The NSW Premier’s History Awards were established in 1997 to honour distinguished achievement in history by Australian citizens and permanent residents. They remain the only comprehensive set of history awards to be offered by an Australian state government.

The primary focus for these awards is the promotion of excellence in the interpretation of history, through both the written word and non-print media. They assist in establishing values and standards in historical research and publication and encourage everyone to appreciate and learn from the work of our historians.

The New South Wales Premier’s History Awards are presented by Arts NSW, a division of the Department of Trade & Investment. The History Council of NSW provides support in promoting the awards and selecting judges. The following awards are offered, each with a $15,000 prize:

  • The Australian History Prize
  • The General History Prize
  • The NSW Community and Regional History Prize
  • The Young People’s History Prize
  • The Multimedia History Prize.